Each year, Mendocino Rotarians select an individual from the local community who they believe has set an outstanding example of Rotary’s motto, “Service Above Self.”

The person need not be a Rotarian. Any club member can nominate an individual for the award.

A subcommittee of the Board of Directors evaluates the award candidates and recommends a deserving individual, who is then voted on by the entire club.

Citizens of the Year

Dee Lemos                                    2000-01

Tony / Lisa Geer                        2001-02

Tomek / CC Ulatowski             2002-03

John / Debbie Turnbull            2003-04

Tom / Penny Honer                   2004-05

Rick / LaDonna McDonald       2005-06

Steve Schlafer                               2006-07

Ed O’Brien                                    2007-08

Ruth Sparks                                  2008-09